NHL Referees, you made the wrong call.

You just can not call a goal if the puck doesn’t enter the net.

In a game, Sat Nov 21 09, between the Phillidelphia Flyers and the Phoenix Coyotes, with the Coyotes up by one they shoot for an empty net late in the third. The puck misses but a Coyotes player races to put the puck in the net. He is hooked and the puck never enters the net. The referees huddle and call it a goal.

You are wrong referees.

That is a grossly unacceptable call and creates a horrible precedent. It doesn’t even have a precedent itself.

You just can not call a goal if the puck doesn’t enter the net.

Yes, it’s unfortunate the player was hooked. Yes, it should have been a penalty, even a penalty shot – on a goalie.

Check the highlights and bloopers and you’ll see many, many, many people fanning on point blank, empty net shots.

There is just no excuse for that call.

Referees, I will grant that you were over emotional in a high stress situation, but you’re professionals and you made the wrong call.

If anything, that game should be annulled.

It was a terrible and wrong call.

2 thoughts on “NHL Referees, you made the wrong call.”

Leave a Reply